Potato podi(powder)

My mother always makes this podi with mor kozhambu. While everyone else mixes mor kozhambu with rice and eats I hog on this podi alone. Hot rice, one spoon ghee mixed with this podi and mor kozhambu as side dish makes me the happiest person on earth.

After marriage I made this podi at home and B too started liking it. When my mom makes it, I ask her to prepare in bulk and I eat it for breakfast,lunch and dinner.Will never get bored of this. I made it last week. Unfortunately I don’t have any pics. You know me..how food goes from stove to stomach..so photo/video and all never crosses my mind.

I will share the recipe, try it once.

1.Boil one medium sized potato in pressure cooker, peel the skin and mash it.It is ok to have small lumps that makes it even more tastier.

2. Take one tsp oil, add 4-5 tbsp of toor dal and 3-4 chillies (add more according to your spice level), add a pinch of asafoetida powder, roast till the dal turns golden.

3. Shift the contents to a plate immediately so that they don’t burn. Once it cools down ,add salt and grind it into a coarse powder.

4. Now mix the mashed potato with the above podi.

5. Take hot rice, add one spoon of ghee, add some podi mix it and eat it with papad.Yummmm. Mor kozhambu is the best jodi for this.

The beauty of this dish is even if the potato qty is too much or too less it will still taste good . If potato is too much you can always make the above powder in 2 mins and add it.

8 thoughts on “Potato podi(powder)

Leave a Reply

