Posted in Blogathon 2014, childhood, Happy Little things

Flashback – II

Childhood and hometown always brings back happy memories.Especialyy if there are many children in neighbourhood and all of them are like family. After I published yesterday’s post lot of memories came to my mind which I wanted to share.Since this is not one single story or such I will just put it in pointers.

-> Like nungu one another famous seller on bicycle during hot summer is “Ice vandi” .They don’t have all these fancy icecreams like chocobar not even cup or cone with various flavours.All they have is shaved ice in 2-3 flavours. Some will be in the form of stick and the other variety is called “pepsi” in our area. The crushed ice will be made in the form of thin long tube with some flavour added and packed in a plastic wrap. You just cut one end of the wrap and start sucking. If eating is fun then showing off the color in your mouth is super fun.Pink,orange and violet colours are common.

-> During pongal, my thatha will get us sugarcane.First he will cut it into pieces ,each about 1-11/2 feet length.Then he will cut it open in the middle vertically.With “Paakku vetti” (a cutter used to cut betel nuts) he will make bite sized marks so that we can easily bite it without breaking our teeth :D. Once it is ready we all sit on top of our compound wall and start chewing discussing about world affairs ! Our world was anyway very different then πŸ™‚

-> We had so many rose plants at home. The simple varieties in baby pink ,pink ,yellow and white color. The baby pink one will bloom in dozens that my amma uses needle and thread to tie them together πŸ™‚

-> At noon when it is too hot , we go to any one person’s garden(everyone owned a huge garden then) and sit on a mango or jackfruit tree, while the bees and garden lizards are busy with their job we continue our chit chat.

-> The fences usually are made with thorny plants. Mostly it will be dry but sometimes some plants start growing in the fence itself.Investigating the fence is another timepass in summer.

->I don’t remember the plant name here but there used to be tiny plants with yellow flowers. The competition will be to flick the flowers using your thumb and middle finger and see whose flower covers the maximum distance.

->How can I forget running behind thatha poochi trying to catch it.

If Β I think more, I will get so many more memories to share. These were never a big thing those days but today when I sit in a place where I hardly see a thatha poochi flying and where a bee is considered as a dangerous animal πŸ™„ I can feel how much we are missing. How much our kids will miss!

p.s. All things I have shared are from my childhood when I never bothered to know the English names. So I used the same names which we used then. Sorry that I could not translate or write it down well. It is there so beautifully picturedΒ in my thoughts but I really have not written it well. So Sorry.

16 thoughts on “Flashback – II

  1. I’ll just say I love you for writing this. Brought back so many memories for me too! πŸ™‚

    Pepsi colas were there near my school too. We used to love it! And, that yellow flower which we used to flick using our thumbs, we used to call it, ‘thala-vetti poo’! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. Thanks SS for reminding those lovely childhood memories….who cares about the english names…this is lovely post.
    BTW it was Pepsi in our area as well (Central India)…we used to get it for 50 paisa πŸ™‚

  3. Loved it so much!!! Been there, done that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Hugs dear!

    We used to walk 1.5kms just to buy that pepsi. Wish I could go back to those days.

    And that poo which we used to flick is called Tridax Procumbens. Strangely I remember its bilogolical name and we used to call it thatha thalai poo or something.. πŸ˜€

  4. What a nostalgic post SS πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I remember those pepsi ice too. I had it in India and also once when I went abroad- it was just named differently, called ice pops. I still love the pink color on my tongue πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. I loved ‘javvarisi kuchi ice’ like crazy πŸ˜€
    With that poo we used to say this, ‘thatha thatha kasu kodu (2) kudukka maatiya, po’ then we will cut the head of the flower with our nails. Ah, why did you write this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. we call the thatha poochi as “thattan” we sing this song along “choo choo thattan subramani thattan unna oruthan pidikka varan odiyae poidu” when someone tries to catch it by its tail..
    and the yellow flower thingie we say “thatha thatha un thalai vetta poren” and we flick
    also, remember the thotta sinungi plant? we used to fight as who gets to stomp it..
    woww ss.. memories are overflowing.. thank you lady!!!

Leave a Reply

