Kitchen Tales

My mother makes the best phulkas in the world (according to me). The first time when B had it he was so surprised that Β it could be so soft. He lovvvves them and keeps asking me to learn from her. If I try to make 10 only 4-5 will puff up fully. But my MIL and FIL completely loved the phulkas I made πŸ˜€

She has to clean the stove and kitchen platform before eating. No matter how many times I tell her, she follows the same order even if she is super hungry, even if I say I will clean it. Reason- She will get lazy after eating it seems!!

Our kitchen sink will be made clean and empty before going to bed. She cannot sleep with dirty vessels in sink. Only very recently she has given up this habit.

No body can beat my MIL when it comes to proper South Indian Items. Be it softy soft idlis or cripy dosa or 1001 varieties of chutney, she is the best. She tries random combination but the chutney comes out good. Sometimes she even forgets what all she had added but the chutney would be a hit already! πŸ˜€

Both my mom and my mil never worry about how much food is left for them – Β yes they server everyone and then only eat. We have to beg literally to make them sit with us. They keep serving even if there is nothing left for them. Me? Try taking from my share then you will know the consequences πŸ‘Ώ πŸ‘Ώ

How can I forget my MIL’s idli sambhar. Litres of sambhar will go in and I lose track of the number of idlis πŸ˜€

Ammini Kozhukattai by my amma– slurpppp , wait will go ask her to make it this week and come back.. πŸ˜›

OK.. I am back πŸ˜€ .. My mom when she puts the clothes for drying, she does it in such a way that you don’t have to iron the clothes at all. It will be dried and folded so neatly.She is an expert in that.(We dry our clothes in kitchen balcony, so this is coming under kitchen tales )

There are so many things about these two ladies that I am very proud of. Generally I don’t sit and think about all these. Thanks to blogathon for giving me a chance to appreciate their hard work and effort.

8 thoughts on “Kitchen Tales

  1. I love your amma and MIL. They are so sweet. I am the same when it comes to drying and folding cloths (but I am poor in arranging it in cupboard). And each and every word you have written about your MIL suits mine too πŸ˜€ Whenever I go to their place I will keep a list of dishes to be prepared by her πŸ˜€ I learnt vada making from her only.
    I think, I should thank you for the fodder πŸ™‚

  2. Your amma and MIL seem so so sweet SS. My amma does it too..whipping a super hit chutney by throwing in random ingredients. I wonder how she does it with such ease πŸ™‚

    We made ammini kozhukatai’s 2 days back. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  3. These Ammas I tell you. My amma does the cleaning immediately after cooking too, for the same reason you mentioned. And she serves hot chapathis to all of us, only to last in the end – again because of the same reason. I have fought with her until she changed it recently.

  4. lol on the cloth hanging tale coming under this post just ‘coz you dry clothes in kitchen balcony..
    yeah yeah I know the consequences if your share is to be spared.. I remember the upma incident πŸ˜‰
    love to Amma and MIL..

Leave a Reply

