The art of saying “I Don’t Know”

Few days back, during lunch time we were discussing about the sentence “I don’t know”. How people take it when someone says I don’t know or how difficult is it for someone to say I don’t know.

When I started working, for few days I had no work at all. And when I got some work ,many things were new . When a senior person asked me some question I said I don’t know how to do it. The response was such that I decided never to say I don’t know, even though I don’t know. Everytime some question came to my mind I had another question attached to it- Is it a very stupid question.

So when we were discussing about this, we were thinking what the problem is. May be ‘I don’t know’ is considered as ‘stupidity’ . May be people judge too quickly. And the problem is it shows up in their response. Many time I have felt that when you say I don’t know and ask people to explain, the response will not be clear. You will still be in ‘I don’t know’ state after the conversation. Sometimes even worse, you will feel bad about yourself  and next time you won’t feel all that comfortable to say ‘I don’t know’.

To workaround , when I had questions I started the conversation like this

“Hello..  may be this question is very stupid,but could you please explain how y works”

So the idea here is to give enough warning to the opposite person  that a question which might sound stupid to you is going to come next. Be ready to handle it in a nicer way dear! 🙄 🙄 😀

On the other side, just because someone thinks that you are stupid does not make you stupid. Nobody is stupid in this world.What you know the other person may not be knowing . In exactly the same way, what he/she knows you may not know. Accept it.Don’t stop asking just because someone is not ready to explain it.

I have few people in my team to whom you can ask any doubt. Never ever you will feel that your question is silly. I don’t know if they are judging me by my questions but the point is whether or not they judge , it never shows up in their response which makes me feel comfortable.A big thanks to all of them who have helped me to grow!

 

6 thoughts on “The art of saying “I Don’t Know”

  1. firstly en indha green kolaveri? I don’t know if I like it or not as green is my favorite..
    secondly I will go to sleep with this piece of gyaan. Jokes apart even I had few mentors in my early day who always respond in a nicer way that encourages you to ask more questions. kudos to all such people…

  2. True SS!!! One one is brilliant enough in this world to know everything. I have never backed out on asking questions.. but then there is always the thought of what if the other person considers my question as stupidity? Sometimes I keep quiet and sometimes I just cannot. Similarly, coming out with opinions and suggestions. Initially I used to think my opinions are lame.. but nevertheless I used to voice them out. No opinion is bad in my opinion 😀 Thankfully in my organization they believe no question/opinion is stupid.

Leave a Reply

