I too have a list now :D

I don’t read much. I have never been a member of a library. Apart from The Alchemist , I have read few short stories.That’s all. But something changed in 2012. I started reading.Thanks to many blogger friends, their book reviews and discussions inspired me.Also the long travel to office helped. I gave it a try. I started with Twilight series. I bought few books and then I became a member of a local library and started reading from there.Here is my 2012 books list. I selected these books mostly from Vidya‘s and SnS‘s blogs.

 

Twilight Series (I think this was in 2011)

Lord of the rings

To kill a mocking bird

Life of Pi

Animal Farm

The Kite Runner

Thousand splendid suns

Ramayana by Ramesh Menon

Mahabharatha by Devdutt Patnaik

Summer Moonshine

Tuesdays with Morrie

The best of Roald Dahl

Ponniyin Selvan (now reading)

I liked all the books. There are some memories associated with each book. Ramayana and Mahabharatha were special because everyday after reaching office , I used to discuss with my team mate about these great epics. She used to tell me some unknown stories which her grandma used to tell her – about Krishna, about Bhima. One another friend in office was also interested and each day I had to tell him one short story or incident from these books. We 3 loved these talks.It made the reading session very interesting.

Thousand Splendid Suns – I can’t forget because I was in train that time – a day train- reading and crying like anything. When my mother asked I gave all silly reasons in the world . To hide the tears I kept my face very close to the window Β thinking the strong wind would just dry them up πŸ˜›

Tuesdays with Morrie was best. Because when I was reading the book, I could see some real life examples/situations which Morrie talks about in the book . Everytime it happens Β I used to think ‘oh Morrie spoke about this ‘ πŸ™‚ Β , sometimes I used to Β laugh thinking how true the book is.

 

Overall I am happy with my 2012 reading. Hope I read more in 2013 πŸ˜€

 

 

14 thoughts on “I too have a list now :D

  1. you read ramanyana and mahab :O gr8 πŸ™‚ ponniyan selvan is an awesome book πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ read sivagami sabatham too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ an awesome book πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

