Puliyodharai is always better than Pizza !!

I had my first pizza after joining work. I started having loads of chocolates , brownies, cakes after college. I have had chocolates before that but they were limited. These days even if I hear the word chocolate or pizza I start feeling hungry. When pizza andΒ chocolates are close to my stomach,there is a separate list which is very close to my heart. The temple Prasadhams πŸ™‚

Sakkarai Pongal:-

When I was a kid there was a small Ganapathi temple close to my home. Every week there will be some pooja and all the kids from my street assemble there. We sing bhajans (needs another special post) and at the end prasadham will be distributed to everyone. Mostly it will be some sundal or sakkarai pongal. As kids we had given some job. There was a small tree which has broad leaves in front of the temple. Our job was to collect the leaves and prasadham was distributed in those leaves. Sakkarai Pongal would reach temple even before the pooja starts and it was not kept in some hot pack n all. It was just kept in a normal stainless steel pathram. But at the end when they distribute it one leaf was never enough to hold it. It would be so hot.Β  One side your hands will be juggling the leaf unable to bear the heat. On the other side taste buds will be craving for the sakkarai pongal. All our eyes would grow so big and for that ten minutes no other thought had room in our brain πŸ™‚ That sakkarai pongal never had any cashews or ghee floating on top. But still its the BEST!! πŸ˜€

Puliyodharai (tamarind rice) :-

My all time favourite is puliyodharai. I remember going to srirangam temple many times when I was studying and I never came back without a visit to prasadham stall. The vada in srirangam temple are awesome too. Sometimes my prayer included “God there should be puliodharai today in the prasadham stall” πŸ™‚ . We used to go to Oppuliappan kovil(Balaji temple) in kumbakonam and I LOVE the puliodharai there. In this temple all food offerings are saltless.But still the puliyodharai prasadham- nothing can match it! **Eyes getting bigger now **.

Thayir sadham (curd rice) :-

Seriously someone has to tell me the secret.Amma makes yummy curd rice , but still there is something special when it comes hot hot straight from Hanuman temple !!

Tirupathi Laddu:-

No explanation needed for this. I went with my cousins (when we were small) and that time the laddu was really big and they gave three laddus for each ticket I think. When coming back the laddu bag was handed over to the kids. When the bus reached the base of the hill, the laddu bag was empty:D

Temple visits are never complete without eating prasadham πŸ˜€ After all the prayers and poojas , the whole family/friends assemble in front of prasadham stall. Each one will shout one one name and atlast every single item kept there will reach our hands and in 10minutes the plate/leaf will be so clean πŸ˜€

16 thoughts on “Puliyodharai is always better than Pizza !!

  1. and you must be my mother’s daughter…ask my Amma, she will tell the same thing..nothing to beat thaiyir chadam :):)

    But I think the great part of most temple prasadams are the way we view them..with a kind of belief that may often overcome the shortcomings in taste….

  2. now you make me drooolll… this is too bad.. but thats okay just to add some more fuel to the fire we went to a ganesh temple at New York last weekend and we had sambar vada, mini idli, kichidi, masala dosa, samosa, mysore pak and kesari πŸ™‚

    I LOOVVEE prasadams…

    ss eyes getting wider.. nice. I can imagine that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. Oh yes that very true the prasad given at temples have amazing taste and they give a feeling of satisfaction..Here in bangalore there is this temple ‘ragegudda’ (not sure of spelling) there they give amazing avalakki and puliyogre..hmmm yummy πŸ™‚

  4. Which is why brother and me went with amma every month to the sankashti in the temple at night – to eat that hot hot puliogare πŸ˜€

    And why we wait for anyone going to Thirupathi? – so we can get the prasada…

    What? Our bhakti ends with the prasadam ok?

    1. he he πŸ™‚
      In office too, people who are back from Tirupathi are expected to bring laddoo to office the next day!! πŸ™‚
      Our bhakti ends with the prasadam – I am with you πŸ™‚

  5. Love puliyodarai and chakarapongal from the temples.. their taste is unmatched:).. after visiting a temple that the most important thing that my dad does.. stand in the queue and get our packages.

Leave a Reply

