Posted in childhood

Happy Children’s day !

Childhood is the world of miracle or of magic –Β EUGENE IONESCO

When I was a kid I didnot have great friends at school. But I had a very good set of friends in the street we lived in. It was a long lane. We were a group of eight. We always used to play together. Our list of games is endless. Right from hide and seek, lock and key, badminton, running chasing we played everything together. We used to assemble at one house and watch movies together. One time we played hide and seek in a house and it went on till the end of the day. Sometimes we gather just to talk. we all join hands walk in the street go round and round talking about endless things. I don’t remember a thing that we talked about today. But we enjoyed every bit of it. There used to be some under construction buildings . We used to play in the fresh sand there. Once we went inside someone else’s garden and they literally threw us out πŸ™‚ There was a car shed and we always assemble there and decide what games to play. We forgot sun, sweat, hunger, thirst and enjoyed every moment. Its not like we were always the calm people. We used to fight a lot. We hit each other. Once one of my friend tried to strangle me hehe. But one of the best thing was our parents were never involved in those fights.Our fights never reached our parents. Even if they knew they let us to sort it out ourselves. We used to forget and forgive easily. We are still in touch. If I continue talking about this it will never get over.

There are few more childhood stories which I would like to share today. My uncle when he was a kid never liked his school teacher. My grandpa used to bribe him everyday to make him attend school it seems πŸ™‚ My mother used to tell me that my uncle goes and hides in some relatives place , finishes his dabba and comes back to home on time exactly when his school gets over.

One of my cousin B, when she was 2 years old she was very much fascinated by the music of nadhaswaram and dhol that once she followed the group playing music on street. She was happily clapping her hands according to the music ,shaking her hip followed them till the end of the street. My uncle spotted her on time and dragged her back home.

My another cousin could not pronounce “Ka” for a long time. She used to replace all “ka” with “Ta”. We tease her even today.

When I joined a new school in II std, my class teacher was Miss.Lakshmi. I fell in love with her instantly. In III std when they changed my section, I went straight to Miss Lakshmi’s class (a different section) and sat there saying I don’t like any other teacher πŸ™‚

One time when I was studying III std I guess, I left my school bag at home and went to school only with lunch bag (Genius I am!). I realized it only after the classes started ! My bad luck my teacher asked me for a pencil .I bent down went under the bench , called out the boy sitting in front of me and asked him to lend me his pencil. Then I got up and gave it to my teacher as if it was my pencil. I don’t know how but I thought that I could manage the whole day like that. Right then my grandpa came to my class handed over my bag telling my teacher that I had forgotten it. The look she gave me was priceless!

My youngest cousin K was in Tirupathi for sometime. During summer hols we used to go there. One time when I went she was in school. She was in LKG. I went to her school to pick her up. The kids were standing in line and saying prayer.She noticed me, with one eye closed and one open – still saying prayer she flashed a smile at me. The look on her face was priceless. As soon as the prayer got over, she literally jumped on me. That was too too cute. I can never forget that.

There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.Β  ~Elizabeth Lawrence

There are a lot of kids whom I have not met in person but came to know about them through the blogs .

R, Keer, Kau , Buzz, Bugz, Chutku , Varun, Vyas , MyEra’s daughter , Adi and so many other kids. Happy Children’s day to all the kids out there ! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Happy Children’s day !

  1. hehehhe u just took your lunch box to school no wonder even now you think of food πŸ™‚
    Childhood days were the golden ones and as i read this post it made me nostalgic.Thanks summerscript for making me recall my childhood days through you post..

  2. ‘There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.’ – There ss.. You really made my day, today. Thanks for taking time to remember all the kids! πŸ˜€

    And you really went to school without your school bag? I mean, really??! πŸ˜›

    1. Really REALLY. We were 3 kids My thatha used to drop us at school in TVS 50. 3 school bags 3 lunch bags.. 4 people one paavam TVS 50. Imagine. We were late that day. I was careful enough to carry the lunch koodai but somehow my school bag slipped out of my mind. I would have managed the whole day but my thatha spoilt it πŸ˜‰

      Actually I was a very silent kid. first rank first bench types. I hardly made any mistakes so the ones I dis I never forget. I was caught eating marie biscuit in class once. Other than these two I really dont remember any such incidents.

  3. you were a very silent kid??????????????????????? namba mudiya villai..
    Wish you a very happy children’s day. Chey what times those where. I was very tall when I was a kid (Now don’t laugh okay, I stopped growing after 8th class) so I was always that last bencher. I so want to write a post on my school days now, why are you doing this to me

  4. Nice post summerscript.. does take me back to some incidents at school.. Happy children’s day! Was a studious kid too but forced to sit in first bench because of my height – I started growing only after the 10th class:). Even I used to follow one of my teachers to the washroom and stand beside the door.. poor lady was not allowed to be out of sight for long:)!

  5. lovely moments.. this triggers my childhood memories and I so want to write a long post now right now but I am little sad ss.. see you have Adi last in the list 😦 but I consoled myself by saying people usually save the best for last πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    – by thunbathilum inbam kanbor sangam

    1. Just now sent an email to you Ani .
      Pls pls do write a post Ani.
      oh no no no, I didnot have any specific order in mind. I love adi darling. I was checking Adi s arts today morning. Its so so cute πŸ™‚ She is a talented kid. Wait I will comment on your page πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

